Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New Jersey

In want to raise tenant's monthly rent. So on 20 Jun 18 I properly served a "Notice to Quit; Demand for Posession" effective 31 July 18, together with a "Notice of Increased Rent" effective 01 Aug 18.

The tenancy is month-to-month. Their rent was last increased as of 01 Nov 17. The tenant has replied that they will not vacate nor will accept the rent increase, stating that "..I contacted the Bergen county housing coalition. You are not allowed to raise my rent more than once in a 12 month period."

Is this true? And if not, how and when do I proceed in Landlord-Tenant court? Thank you.

Asked on 7/14/18, 2:09 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bruce Gudin Ehrlich, Petriello, Gudin & Plaza Esqs.

File an action for nonpayment of the portion of rent your residents fail to pay in August.

Read more
Answered on 7/20/18, 8:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New Jersey