Legal Question in Banking Law in New York

I am an account holder at PSFCU, a federal credit union, residing in Illinois. An individual deposited a large-sum check, without my knowledge or physical presence and forging my endorsement on the back, on March 14 at a PSFCU branch in Brooklyn, NY. Oddly enough, a teller at said branch accepted the check for deposit to my account without verifying the individual, check item presented, nor have attempted to contact me to consent the transaction. Apparently, then, from what I gather thus far, a third individual (likely a relative, more importantly, a signor to the payor account of the underlying check) ordered to stop payment at Chase Bank on March 15 or thereabouts - reason yet unknown. Oddly still, PSFCU nonetheless credited my account about half the check amount on March 18, per usual hold-release, and subsequently charged my account (debiting) the total check amount, plus a fee, on March 19 leaving me with a sizable negative standing balance. That afternoon, PSFCU's Collection Department ambiguously began to urge my immediate contact by email - particularly, refusing to provide a reason for their request in writing. Noticing, thereafter, the accounting mess online, I called in and was met with the usual debt collecting unpleasantry. Eventually, after the frustration of explaining that my signature was forged and I didn't make the deposit in New York because I live in Illinois, the C.D. representative referred the matter to PSFCU's Compliance Department to investigate; however, I highly doubt they'll respond satisfactorily, likely continue giving me the runaround; so, what are my legal rights and PSFCU's duties to me or possible exposure to liabilities?

Asked on 4/02/19, 2:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

This situation is far too complicated to address in this forum.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 4/02/19, 6:01 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in New York