Legal Question in Bankruptcy in New York

Hello. I claimed a chapter 13 bankruptcy in 2010. In 2014 the bankruptcy was discharged after the plan payments were all completed. During this time, I surrendered my house to a mortgage company. I have the discharge papers and copies of these were sent to the mortgage company. What seems to have happened is the mortgage company has sold my debt to another company and this company is now harassing me for the money owed. They are also reporting on my credit report. Is there anything I can do to stop this from happening. Currently, they house I surrendered is sealed up and external locks have been put on it by the new company. They are still reporting that I own this property. I am getting notices from the city and from the Water company or payments as well as many other fines that I cannot even correct if I wanted to because I do not have access to the property. What can I do?

Asked on 1/06/17, 9:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Martin Posner Law Office of Martin L. Posner

They are violating federal law as you have been discharged. Why don't you call me tomorrow at 914 760 6059. Perhaps I can help

Read more
Answered on 1/06/17, 1:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in New York