Legal Question in Business Law in New York

I live in Brooklyn and still use Verizon’s landline for my home phone, that I’ve been using for the past 40 years.

About a year ago I received a letter from Verizon informing me that they would be retiring copper lines by the end of the year and in order for me to maintain their service, my management would need to grant Verizon techs access into my building to do the wiring for new fiber optical FIOS service. Mine is a 6-story multiple apartment dwelling with other tenants still having the same copper landlines.

I contacted my management about the letter and upon their request sent them a copy of the said letter.

(Need to add that in my building we ALREADY have Cablevision by Optimum, but not Verizon, though I use and pay to Verizon for my 2 phone lines that still use copper wires).

About 4 months later I received a second letter from Verizon about still not being able to gain access into my building and that my service with them would be ending on or around August 13, 2018, (though I still have their service working to this day, 09-11-18).

I, once again, contacted the management about letting Verizon in, trying to put some pressure on them, but the property manager told me that he wanted some “$$ kickback” from Verizon for wiring his property and as long as they don’t pay him anything, he wouldn’t let them into the building.

I, for one, for my own reasons and due to my preferences, do NOT want Optimum’s service and want to continue on with Verizon, but my building management precludes me from doing so, limiting my choice and thus “strong-arming” me into accepting the only available option: Optimum cable service.

I understand it’s an uphill battle, but what, if any, are my legal options if I want to go/remain with Verizon?

Can my property manager be legally forced to allow Verizon into the building, if Verizon is ALREADY "in the building" -- only with copper wires?

What needs to happen for him to do that or is it a lost case and he is free to do as he pleases since it's his property?

Going around collecting signatures from other tenants to file a petition might be a dead end idea, so I might be on my own.


Asked on 9/11/18, 3:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

I advise you to drop this entire matter and get on with your life. Nothing will come of this. Forget it. You have no legal options.

Read more
Answered on 9/12/18, 4:18 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in New York