Legal Question in Consumer Law in New York

My mother adopted a cat and refuses to take care of it. I have been feeding him, paying for his pet insurance, vet bill, and various other things I found out he needed through the vet. My mom is the a hoarder and the environment is unsafe. There is black mold. I am moving and want to take the cat with me otherwise he will not be cared for. I know she will threaten with legal action if I do so. I am not the one who adopted him so my name is not on his adoption papers. What are my options?

Asked on 9/18/21, 12:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys


I trust your best bet is to contact SPCA and follow their instructions, if any. If your mother is not adjudged as incompetent or deemed to have mental issues, your taking the cat without her permission can be prosecuted as conversion of property.

Read more
Answered on 9/18/21, 1:19 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in New York