Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

in 2013 I financed a camry for 600 per mos. I paid it for a while but in nov. 2014 I voluntarily had the car repossed as I could no longer pay. I just got a letter from a collection agcy. first Toyota wanted 16,000 then it was brought down to 8,000. I said I only could pay 5,000. my credit reports both say balance $0. account status closed-derogatory collection/charge off. charged off acc. charged off as bad debt. profit & loss write off. Am I responsible for this debt?

Asked on 6/12/16, 8:32 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Yes. A write off does not excuse payment. Some collection company may buy the debt and come after you as long as the Statute of Limitations has not run.

Read more
Answered on 6/12/16, 6:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York