Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

I am a Canadian citizen working in the NY on a TN work visa. My American income goes into a USA bank account. I have collections agencies in Canada threatening to take me to court for default judgments on Canadian loans. Can they garnish my wages from my employer in NY, that direct deposits my wages into a USA bank account, or is it untouchable?

Asked on 3/28/16, 5:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

If they obtain a money judgment against you there are methods available to garnish your salary.

Read more
Answered on 3/28/16, 5:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York