Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

I had a message to call a law firm regarding a civil suit against me. I called the law firm & was told that I was being sued for a credit card from 2010. When I contacted synchrony bank, the issuer of the card, they stated that the account had been deleted & could only tell me that it was from 2004 with the last payment received on 2006. No collections agencies have ever reached out to me regarding this & I honestly have no recollection of this. It is in the smith of $1800. Can I be sued for this?

Asked on 3/09/20, 11:35 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

The running of the Statute of Limitations would be complete defense.

Read more
Answered on 3/09/20, 11:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York