Legal Question in Civil Litigation in New York

My mom died in 2010 and her husband and his children were very unhappy with how her estate was divided. Her husband died in 2011 and now in 2012 his family is attempting to sue my mother's auto insurance company as well as her estate for an accident they were involved in back in 2008. My mother was driving and their car was hit by another car so she was not at fault however his family is suing her estate for reckless driving. What I want to know is can we sue them for harrassment? Their lawsuit is clearly a frivolous one and an attempt to make money. Any information will be greatly appreciated.

Asked on 8/16/12, 7:56 am

1 Answer from Attorneys


Discover your mother's auto insurer in 2008. It must be within her papers or the late husband's.

Forward any correspondence or legal documents to the insurance company and let them defend the estate. There is nothing more you can do.

Read more
Answered on 8/16/12, 12:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in New York