Legal Question in Immigration Law in New York

I married in Sept this year to a us citizen. I am in the process of filing (i-130, i-485, i-765).

I want to know if my application will be considered favourably because of two concerns:

1. My work visa will expire while the application is in process

2. I have been working with a company which is not the petitioner of the visa.

Please let me know what is my recourse if any to ensure a favourable outcome.

Asked on 11/30/16, 8:22 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Marlene Hemmings Marlene Hemmings, Attorney at Law

Fortunately, as long as you had a lawful entry AND are married to a U.S. citizen, those two issues should not be of concern. If this was an employment based case, then you would be denied.

Read more
Answered on 11/30/16, 8:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in New York