Legal Question in Sexual Harassment in New York

I was hired in Jan 09, as a sales agent and the owner of the company assigned himself as my trainer. We would sit in the open houses together on the weekends, he would buy lunch for us. During the weekdays he would call me into his office to talk over many things, from marketing to sales, and different projects he wanted to start. I thought it was a great job where the boss actually cared about what you thought and your expertise, but things went from professional to friendly with remarks and conversations. I thought we just clicked and were becoming friends and co-workers. When things went too personal, I was uncomfortable and started to speak about my family and husband all the time. I would try to find ways to bring them up at every turn, but he didn't seem to get the clue and when he mentioned I should see his house, or we should go away together, when could I get away or can he have a hug or kiss or I was giving him a boner, These things made me really uncomfortable and even when I said no thanks or I am married, it only made me feel more uncomfortable because the advances wouldn't stop. He would even find ways to touch me, like pulling my ponytail or brushing up against me as he walked by. I kept to myself more and stopped volunteering for projects and things started to die down around June. I was just starting to get some sort of confidence again without being afraid of what disgusting thing the boss was going to say to me. Then in Aug 09 I was fired for not performing. I don't know what to do, There was never anyone around to witness the crude things he would say or do, so it is my word against his. I just feel that I should get justice and he should not get away with this or do it to someone else.

Asked on 2/04/10, 6:47 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade

Here is a suggestion: contact the State Div. of Human Rights and file a complaint.

Read more
Answered on 2/12/10, 6:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Sexual Harassment Law questions and answers in New York