Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

My cousin died in November 2016. A 90-year-old aunt and I are his only surviving blood relatives. Recently I was contacted by a law firm in NY with a document saying on it, "Notice of Application for Letters of Administration", distributed through a surrogate court in NY State. The petitioner asked that a decree be made directing the issuance of Letters of Administration to the Public Administrator of this NY County. Under "Distributees", my name and address was there, but not that of my aunt's. When I spoke to her about this, she said she knew nothing of it.

Two days ago, I got a second correspondence from the same law firm, stating that it needs me to sign a "waiver of citation, renunciation and consent to appointment of administrator". I called the firm and was told that my aunt had already been contacted by them but was being "represented" by her daughter-in-law.

I assume that any assets that may have been left by my cousin was for his coop apartment, but I would like to know what signing off on this waiver means to me regarding any future interactions with this law firm and/or with the surrogate state court, especially with what my aunt told me and what the law firm said.

Asked on 7/07/18, 6:30 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

You need to go see a lawyer and get face to face advice. This is a very important matter with possibly extreme consequences for making the wrong call. You need to be proactive asap here.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 7/08/18, 5:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York