Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

I got a letter asking me to sign and have notarized a “Receipt, Release and Waiver” saying I received distribution from my mom’s estate. If I’m reading the legalese correctly, it also releases the executor from any liability. The letter instructs me to send this to the lawyer’s office to be held in escrow until the executor says he has made payments. I am uncomfortable signing something that says I received money I haven’t received yet. Also, I do not trust the executor. (Mom left her personal belongings to my brother, but the executor took some expensive items without asking.) Is this “Receipt, Release and Waiver” standard? Is it normal to sign one of these before actually receiving the money? (NY State)

Asked on 9/24/22, 6:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

No. If you do not trust him, why would you sign?

Read more
Answered on 9/25/22, 12:46 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York