Legal Question in Criminal Law in Ohio

When the Magistrate Judge sends me the R&R with the instructions for me to file my Objections, Quote " 17 days after service." My question is When does the dead line time start ticking, from tha date the Magistrate files the R&R or from the date of "service"? which is the date I was served with the document by prison staff in the mail. Keep in mind that prisoners dont have access to the electronic systems the courts use for lawyers so we dont know when a document is filed until after we've been served with it via the regular mail

Asked on 8/07/16, 2:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Dan Guinn Guinn Law Firm, LLC

The time would start running from the date that the Magistrate's Decision is filed.

If you have any other questions please do not hesitate to contact me at [email protected] or 330-343-1421.

Read more
Answered on 8/07/16, 3:54 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Ohio