Legal Question in Business Law in Oklahoma

Antitrust Issue

I recently opened a retail business and I am having problems getting suppliers to sell to me due to one of my competitors. My competition has threatened to quit buying product from them if they sell to me. Two of my suppliers have indicated he is the reason why I can't get accounts opened up. I have cash up front for all my orders and the suppliers know this. One supplier opened my account and then closed it down and told me his company made a mistake. I paid COD for that shipment, so there is nothing wrong with my credit. 1) Can my competition get away with telling the suppliers to not sell to me? 2) Even if is legal for my competition to do this, isn't it illegal for a supplier to refuse to sell to me with cash in hand?

Thanks for your time.

Asked on 1/07/03, 4:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Hunt John

Re: Antitrust Issue

Thanks for your question. What you have described would appear to be an illegal restraint of trade. It would certaintly warrant you to consult with an attorney.

Read more
Answered on 1/07/03, 5:36 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Oklahoma