Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Oklahoma

FBI Background checks for employment

I was just notified by a large commercial bank that just hired me that when they ran my fingerprint card through their system, an incodent that happened 8 years ago showed up. The bank told me this could be grounds now for not hiring me. What happend was when I was 19 years old, I went into a Tag Agency and lied about my age for a drivers license and got arrested for it. The judge ordered dropped it to a misdemeanor and it was ordered expunged from my criminal record 6 months later. However, I guess at the federal level it never disappears. The bank requested that I provide more information as to the disposition. All I could provide for them was the record provided to my by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. They told me they have to have the original disposition from the courthouse.

I was accepted for a sales position in the bank and it baffles my mind how they can do this. When I accepted this job, I turned down 4 other offers, now it looks like I won't even get this job. If I get rejected, can I seek damages?

Asked on 12/23/03, 4:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Re: FBI Background checks for employment

You have no claim for damages, but you may be able to get the record expunged from the FBI database. Give me a call if you want to discuss it. (405) 231-4343

Read more
Answered on 12/24/03, 3:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Oklahoma