Legal Question in Family Law in Pennsylvania

I bought a house with my boyfiiend, we got married four months later. I put down a large sum of my own money on the house. We are going through a divorce. Am I entitled to my money I put down when we sell the house? The deed is in both our names.

Asked on 4/08/12, 6:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glenn Brown Real World Law, P.C.

Sounds like the property including your down payment will be subject to equitable distribution.

So the number years married and other considerations will be factored by the court in dividing up your assets in the divorce.

Read more
Answered on 4/08/12, 6:20 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Pennsylvania