Legal Question in Legal Malpractice in Pennsylvania

''Hero'' Beaten By PA State Police

On 2/13/08 my DH, 44 yr old disabled vet, went to get our mail. He heard a lady across street screaming for help. He went to her screened porch & saw an older man punching her about the head. He yelled at him to stop & the guy told him to ''get the 'F%#K' outta here or I'll kill you''. DH suggested police or lawyer if he had a problem w/the lady but the guy went to screen & tried stabbing DH thru it w/an icepick! DH yelled for lady to go in, lock the door & call 911 ~ she did but the guy kicked in the door & went in icepick raised. DH entered porch, grabbed guy by back collar, pulled him back on porch, got him down & hit guys arm on ground til he dropped icepick. Then DH held him down w/guys arms behind his back til PA troopers came. Guns drawn, they ordered DH off - he did, sat w/hands open in front of him. W/no ?'s, troopers threw DH face down, cuffed him. One trooper then ''stomped on his head'' (broke nose, split lip). Another kicked him (broke rib) to ''move him out of the way''. IA invest. confirmed, trooper being prosecuted. Atty took case (against State) NOW says DH CAN'T sue State, just the trooper. Atty dropped ball on other items (i.e. witness dep. B4 she got ''amnesia''). New law? Did he screw up case? Do we have recourse?

Asked on 10/15/08, 10:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Terry A. Nelson Nelson & Lawless

Re: ''Hero'' Beaten By PA State Police

Why are you posting to California when the event occurred in PA?

Read more
Answered on 10/16/08, 1:20 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Malpractice Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania