Legal Question in Personal Injury in Pennsylvania

I want to start and be administrator to a Face Book group that will provide real time information on wind, wave, and lake conditions from boaters/fishermen out on the lake. Members will be posting these conditions throughout the day to help other boaters decide whether they want to venture out or not. But we all know about misinformation posted by trolls. Could I be held liable for any injuries/death sustained by people out on their boats due to bad information posted regarding the conditions of the lake? Example: actual lake conditions are high winds with 6 foot waves but a troll posts calm conditions. A boater ventures out based on this info, his boat capsizes and people drown. Anyway this can come back on me? Thanks

Asked on 3/01/16, 4:28 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Solomon Weinstein Solomon Weinstein, Esquire

I would think there is true risk that you may be liable if the information turns out incorrect. Of course you may have defenses but the risk seems very great.

Read more
Answered on 3/01/16, 11:05 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania