Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Rhode Island

payroll tax liabilities

In a partnership are both partners equally responsible for back payroll taxes incurred in a pre petition period. If partnership is 50/50 are the back taxes the same or can one partner be resp. for all taxes, Is there case law to support this finding.

Asked on 4/28/99, 10:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.

Re: payroll tax liabilities

In a general partnership, all partners are jointly liable for all debts. The IRS can go after any or all; the one paying would have a claim for contribution against the other.

Read more
Answered on 5/01/99, 9:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Rhode Island