Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Rhode Island

collection notice for motor vehicle tax

I recently received a collection notice for a motor vehicle registration tax from the city of Providence, RI. The referenced registration was to a car my wife bought in September, shortly before we were married. We lived in the state for one year from July 2001 to June 2002, when my wife and I both moved to Illinois. I had never heard of or received such a tax notice while living in the state, and we did not receive the original notice referred to in the collection note, which indicates a tax is due on the registration for the period from 9/01 to 12/01. I mailed a letter to the collection agency with a photocopy of my receipt for sales tax paid and requested a copy of the original tax bill if the taxes I paid at the time of sale did not cover this bill. They replied telling me to contact the tax assessor's office (no address or phone#) for documentation and threatened my credit rating if they did not receive payment in 15 days. What is the collection agency capable of doing if I refuse to just pay this bill without further question? Thank you.

Asked on 11/05/03, 5:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mary McDonagh McDonagh-Faherty Law Offices

Re: collection notice for motor vehicle tax

If you do not pay, then they can place it on your credit report as an unpaid collection. My advice is contact the tax authorities and find out what is going on.

Read more
Answered on 11/06/03, 9:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Rhode Island