Legal Question in Employment Law in Tennessee

I live in tennessee i have to work every other weekend at my job,last weekend i called in on saturday,they have since told me i have to come in this saturday to make up for the shift i called in? is this legal for them to make me come in to make up for a shift i called in for?

Asked on 9/29/17, 7:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

James R. Becker, Jr. Becker Law Firm

In one word...yes.

Tennessee is an employment at-will state. Unless you have a union or some contractual right to not work, your employer has the right to assign you to work any shift it may designate.

Read more
Answered on 9/29/17, 12:27 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Tennessee