Legal Question in Employment Law in Tennessee

If a person is hired to work 30 hours at an hourly wage and works 35, can the employer force the employee to take comp time for the additional 5 hours worked?

Asked on 11/11/10, 7:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

James R. Becker, Jr. Becker Law Firm

Generally, for an employer covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, comp time is not a legal alternative to overtime pay. There are some exceptions.

Read more
Answered on 11/17/10, 8:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Tennessee