Legal Question in Banking Law in Texas

My dad had a loan from a bank, he's the only one on the cotract (my mother wasn't in the contract). My dad passed away . My question is, does my mother need to pay the loan?

Asked on 4/19/10, 5:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

No. It isn't her debt. She's a stranger to the contract, and doesn't have any legal duty to pay it.

The loan MAY need to be paid out of Dad's estate; you should consult your probate lawyer about this.

Read more
Answered on 4/25/10, 9:52 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in Texas