Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Texas

A friend of mine applied for a car loan to purchase a car as a gift to me in Houston, Texas. The title for the car is fully under my name (not his name) with interestingly no lienholders showing up on the title paper at all. Now, this friend just filed for bankruptcy with his bank last week, does that mean the bank can still come and repossess the car with the title fully under my name (with no lienholders on the title)? Note that I am currently in possession of the title paper. Thanks!

Asked on 7/08/14, 11:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Keith Engelke Law Office of S. Keith Engelke

If the loan paperwork lists the car as collateral, the bank could still claim the car.

Read more
Answered on 7/08/14, 9:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Texas