Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Texas

Can an individual be held accountable for the debt of a spouse incurred in his/her business (corporation) if a legal judgment has been issued to the individual and his/her partner?

Asked on 2/08/14, 9:09 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn


A debt is a contract. You were either a part of the contract (i.e., you made a promise in exchange for consideration) or you weren't.

The exceptions are debts that my spouse incurs for NECESSITIES: food, clothing, medical treatment.

Read more
Answered on 2/11/14, 7:05 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Texas