Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas

criminal trespass in a public place

Can a large shopping mall tell you to never come back & if you do they can have you arrested for CRIMINAL trespass? I live in Texas. It seems un-American. Isn't there a right to associate & assemble by shopping? No protest or other illegal activity was involved (= no shoplifting or any other crimes were charged). Is not leaving a public place when the security officer tells you to a crime?

Asked on 12/16/05, 8:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gerald R. Yoakum The Practice of Gerald R. Yoakum, P.C. A Full Service Law Firm

Re: criminal trespass in a public place

It is private property and you must leave when asked. However, never being allowed may be unrealistic

Read more
Answered on 12/16/05, 10:02 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas