Legal Question in Health Care Law in Texas

so i was just informed by a friend of a old ex of mine that he was in a motorcycle wreck and hes in a coma. They want to pull the plug on him but his friends say i'm the only one who can make the decision to pull the plug which makes no sense to me its been close to two years since i dated this guy (for all of maybe 2 months) and hes married now. Shouldn't this decision go to his parents or even his wife for that matter?

Their saying because he has me as his beneficiary it's my job to pull his plug. Is this correct or would that decision go to his parents/wife

Asked on 1/20/13, 2:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

My guess is that somebody is pulling your leg.

It is possible that this "old ex" signed a Medical Power of Attorney that gives YOU the right to make medical decisions for him.

Read more
Answered on 1/21/13, 6:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Health Care Law questions and answers in Texas