Legal Question in Employment Law in Texas

Employees not allowed to punch in.

Can a company assign a time for it's employees to be at work and then not let them punch in for an hour or two? This is a freight delivery (trucking co) and quite often the freight arrives an hour or so late. The employees aren't allowed to punch in until the freight arrives, because they would have nothing to do until it does.

Asked on 1/22/07, 4:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Roger Evans Mathis & Donheiser

Re: Employees not allowed to punch in.

The company must pay you from the time you were advised to be on-site, or as soon thereafter as you arrive. It cannot compel you to be "on call" at its facility and not pay you.

Read more
Answered on 1/23/07, 2:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Texas