Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Texas

I had a settlement that took over two years to settle. Then, when I finally received my payment, I realized months later that my lawyer over paid himself. I've been trying to get him to send me the money he owes me and he keeps telling me that he'll send it in the mail "tomorrow" or he completely ignores my text messages. Is what he is doing legal, and can I sue him for this?

Asked on 11/10/12, 7:47 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

No, what he has done is illegal, and it is a serious breach of ethics.

Call the State Bar of Texas at 1-800-932-1900.

Read more
Answered on 11/11/12, 4:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Texas