Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Texas

Father died Jan 2020 in Texas. Death deed on file which covers property, but not bank accounts. Bank acct has less than $5000 and bank will not release funds without probate. Since this is only thing that has to go thru probate, why will affidavit not be sufficient? I have death certificate, will, and death deed documentation.

Asked on 2/11/20, 11:12 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Leon David L. Leon, P.C.

No, an affidavit won't work.

If you have a will, and there is no debt, you can probate it as a muniment of title only.

It's less expensive than letters testamentary.

For more information, please visit our website:

Read more
Answered on 2/14/20, 10:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Texas