Legal Question in Construction Law in Virginia

I am in the state of Virginia. I have a small Corporation construction business. I’ve just been served papers that my company is being sued. The homeowner claims my company, after installing a new roof, had water enter the home causing major damage on Sept 8, 2016. Their homeowners’ insurance paid $148,000 towards their claim. The insurance attempted to come after the company but after hearing the details and seeing photos walked away without taking me to court. The homeowners have just served me with a $24,800 lawsuit. My question; is there a statute of limitations? There was a signed contract in August 2016. The insurance claim was finalized in December 2016.

Thank you

Asked on 1/08/20, 12:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

Yes, Va Code Sec. 8.01-246 (2) specifies five years from the date the written contract

was signed or from the date of the accrual of the cause of action.

Office Tel. (703) 346-3542

Read more
Answered on 1/10/20, 8:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Construction Law questions and answers in Virginia