Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

Hi. I recently looked up my credit report, and found a negative account which I had no knowledge even existed from "BMG Music Service". It stated in my credit report the account had been referred to a collections agency for non-payment. I did my research and turns out BMG Music and this collections company "National Credit Solutions" has a big scam going on. I've never in my life done business with BMG Music. I did find out they send pre'approved offers in the mail so I'm guessing identity theft might be an explanation, but when I try to contact the collections company to dispute the debt, no attempts are successful. I've gotten hung up on 3 times. What can I do about this as I tried disputing the account with Experian and both times the dispute was denied and they said there was reason to determine it was a legitimate account.

Asked on 2/04/10, 7:24 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cary Moseley Law Office of Cary Powell Moseley, PLLC

You should consult an attorney about whether you have a good FCRA claim or other claims. Feel free to call me if you need further help or a referral.

Read more
Answered on 2/09/10, 7:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia