Legal Question in Business Law in Wisconsin

I consigned an item at a pawn shop about two years ago and was never contacted by the pawnbroker about retrieval or payment of said item but upon finally contacting the owner after several attempts and having made contact several times on the item prior to times this am being told the item has been lost sold or misplaced and the shop seems as though they do not wish to pay the the price I asked for upon consigning it. Having the original paperwork are they legally obligated to pay? There was no time constriction stated on the paperwork and he has tried to tell me after 30 days he isn't responsible yet I was calling and stopping in up until he moved the store about one year ago

Asked on 6/26/12, 1:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Maxwell Livingston Law Offices of Maxwell Charles Livingston

If you tried to retrieve it within 30 days, he committed conversion and you should have the item returned. The difficulty is proving that you did. Best of luck! Email if you want help.

Read more
Answered on 6/26/12, 4:19 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Wisconsin