Legal Question in Employment Law in New York

Waterfront Hotels Corporation in Boston offers a job to Carol, who lives in Denver. Carol orally agrees to work for Waterfront for two years. She moves her family to Boston and begins work. Three months later, she is fired for no stated cause. She files a suit against the employer for reinŽstatement or pay. Waterfront pleads the lack of a written conŽtract. In whose favor is the court likely to rule, and why?

Asked on 4/18/12, 1:44 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arnold Nager Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Waterfront Hotels. The Statute of Frauds requires contracts for more than a year to be in writing and signed by the party to be charged.

Read more
Answered on 4/18/12, 10:08 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now