Alabama | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Bankruptcy...
I filed Chapter 7 in 2003. I had a judgement for an unsecured loan against me and was getting a sizeable wage garnishment before hand. Due to a nasty divorce...I paid back $11,000 on an $8000 loan. Anyway, the debtor put a lien on my house at the time (I was'nt aware of). Apparently, they did'nt get a ''motion of something'' and did'nt roll it into the bankruptcy. No word of this was ever sent to me, so when I sold my house, it surfaced. The title lawyer supposedly got the correct paperwork, and my house has been sold. Now, I'm getting phone calls from a debt collector lawyer saying I stll owe this money. Is there a way I am still responsible for a debt that was in the bankruptcy for a lien on a house that has been sold? Please let me know anything you can...Thank you...Chris


