Alabama | Business Law
Legal Question
Management laughing
In a safety meeting at work, I was sitting in a chair by the door and the meeting was about to start when another employee entered the room and stood right beside where I was sitting. The meeting got underway with all supervisors and the GM present, and this last employee to enter, farted in my face. This was very humiliating and embarassing for me and got me quite angry. The GM and other supervisors smiled and grinned about it but I did not and after the meeting, I pushed the farting employee against the door and told him that I should beat the S___ out of him, and that if he ever did that again, I would beat the S___ out of him. I complained about this to the supervisors and the General Manager, who was continually smiling as I made my complaint to him as though it were funny. ( It wasn't) The GM said he would talk to this guy about his actions. Now I am being threatened by dismissal and nothing is being done to the employee who's actions caused my reactions. My question is can the management be held accountable for their in-action and would an action against me be legal...i.e... dismissal, demotion, etc... what can I do?


