Alabama  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
1/02/05, 7:54 pm

Legal Question


Can social security be garnished for auto loan?

I am asking this on behalf of my father and his wife,both are

in their 70's and each draw s/s.They had a new car which they turned back over to the bank after my father had several strokes.It left a 3000$ deficiency balance. I guess the bank turned it over to a collection agency which said the Alabama law has changed and that 1 check can be garnished but not both.That's all the details I have as I didn't talk to the collector. I believe,like in my home state-California-after obtaining a judgement,they can attach their bank account but if they grabbed the funds from s/security they would have to return the funds,providing my parents submitted a form to the court.

They said that the person who talked to them i'd hisself as an attorney.

Can someone advise if they can do this and what law source I can reference that they can use when dealing with these people?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search