Alabama | Criminal Law
Legal Question
What will happen to me if I have been charged with domestic violence 3rd degree? This is the first offense and in the state of Alabama.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Kreitlein |
Well, if you are not guilty, you can plead not guilty and have a trial where the state or city would have to prove that you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. This charge is a misdemeanor. With no prior convictions, you would most likely get probation and fines-no jail time. A domestic violence conviction (even a misdemeanor) can have some other consequences (being excluded from being considered for employment as a police officer, for example), though, so you should consult a defense attorney in your county before making the choice to go to trial.
If you are guilty-or even if you feel that there is enough evidence that a judge would probably find you guilty-you can ask for something called a "pre-trial diversion" or "deferred prosecution". That means you would complete a domestic violence counseling program or anger management classes and after successfully completing the program/classes, your case would be dismissed.
Again, you probably should speak to an attorney before making any decisions. You will probably have the opportunity to speak to a court-appointed attorney if you cannot afford one on your own. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Walter l. Blocker, III P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Pfeifer LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Robert Kreitlein, Attorney at Law
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-20
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Dennis Harmon
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
The Harris Firm LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-06
Search Questions and Answers


