Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
Default divorce information for non-residents.
Does any state allow divorces when both petitioners are non-residents? Is there any way to get a divorce without the consent or agreement of your spouse? Is dissolution a legal option in Alabama?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Forrester |
Re: Default divorce information for non-residents. The State of Alabama will grant a divorce to nonresidents if they are present in the state pursuant to military duty and have been present for 6 months.
You can get a divorce in Alabama without the consent or agreement of the other party in three circumstances: 1) If you are unable to find them, then you serve them by publication and take a default judgment against them if they fail to respond; 2) If you serve them with the divorce complaint and they fail to file an answer with the Court within 30 days or do not show for the Court date, then you may take a default judgment against them; and 3)If they do not consent or agree, then you take the matter to trial. In Alabama if one of the parties state under oath that the marriage is broken and can not be repaired, then absent some very unusual circumstances a divorce will be granted over the objection of the other party.
Dissolution is not available in Alabama, only annulment, legal separation, or divorce.
If we can be of assistance, please feel free to contact us at Forrester & Associates, 256-435-1007. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Murchison & Howard, LLC
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Walter l. Blocker, III P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Pfeifer LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Scott Law Office
Headland, AL
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-02
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Redden, Mills & Clark
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Lowe & Myer
Alexander City, AL
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 1999-01-04
Search Questions and Answers


