Legal Question in Employment Law in Alabama

I was terminated by an interim manager using a policy I didn't know existeduntil I got a letter from unemployment . When I was filling out job applications I filled in that I was terminated but not that I had broken any company policy. I fear that when prospective employers contacted my former employer they told them that I did break company policy and as a result my applications got voided. Do I have any recourse?

Asked on 7/28/10, 11:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mari Morrison Mari Morrison, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Usually the former employer does not give a basis for termination of employment to a prospective employer out of fear of a lawsuit. So I would not consider that as being too much of a problem

Read more
8/03/10, 10:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Alabama

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now