Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Alabama

I hired a private detective for 3000.00 for a custody case for my son. My grandson was being physically abused by the mother's boyfriend. DHR involved, took child away from mother and then returned him 3 weeks later. Not happy with DHR. That is when we hired the detective. He did not do as promised. We could never get in touch with him when we needed him, always unavailable. We had a meeting with him a couple of months into the investigation and he freely admitted that he had not worked on the case like he should have and he would give us a refund. He tried to talk us into letting him continue working on the case. My son and I discussed it and two days later told him we were no longer in need of his services and we wanted any and all information that he gathered and the refund that he promised. Two months later I met with him to supposedly get this from him and when I got there he said that I owed him a balance and that he would not give me the info. We think that he has been talking to the mother of the child because of things that he says. Don't trust him. We also think that he has been "spying" on us because things that I talked to with my son over the phone he has said something about. Also when I got ready to leave the appointment, I noticed a video camera pointing right where I was sitting and he was trying to get information from me about the case, what we had and what my son would be happy with and so forth. Now my question, can I sue him for anything to get my money back and can I get his license taken away or report him to someone that makes sure that he never does this to anybody else.

Asked on 8/23/10, 12:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mari Morrison Mari Morrison, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I would say you have a right to sue him to get a refund.

Read more
9/02/10, 6:23 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Alabama

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now