Alabama | Personal Injury
Legal Question
My brother scammed me. My dad had to have surgery for prostate cancer last month. He came up with the idea to raise money to help my dad out while he is laid up for a while after surgery. The deal was to donate $2,400 from the both of us. Well I was worried at first but then I thought my dad could really use this money.
I had no idea I was about to be a victim of a scam by my own brother. It turns out the money was not used to help my ill father but was used to help my con artist brother out. Now I was tricked out of 2,400 dollars of my hard earned money and he will not pay me back. My family never had to have each other sign an agreement to pay back what the other one promised to pay because we are family and my folks does not and never ever had to do such a thing. I feel bad and hurt that my brother would do this to me and my dad. All I want is my money back so badly, but I do not know how to approcah him to make him pay me.
All he ever does is give me the run around saying he hasn't forgoten about me and that he will pay me back all my half of the money and never do. I am constantly thinking about all that hard earned money lost all because my brother had to scheme to get it. I am running out of options to get what is mine. How can I get my money back or at least convince my brother into paying me back?
I didn't present some form of paper stating what he owes me, and I wish I did. My family has never been the type to have each other sign agreements when money is to be paid back, which is why I didn't think I needed written proof of what he owes me. The only receipt I got was my bank receipt for $2,400 cash withdrawal from my savings account, which is the 2,400 I handed to my brother. Then I have both parents word that my dad only got total $400 from me and my brother. Now I am thinking what happened to the rest of the money I put in if me nor my dad used the money. I wish I had a case against my brother, but I may be out of luck.
I tried many times to call him to get this situation settled before things go too far, but he is being slick by dodging me. He is ignoring all my phone calls and he does not come around anymore either. I don't know what to do, and I really need my money back.


