Alabama  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
1/13/08, 6:46 pm

Legal Question


Employer process in Sexual Harrassment Situations

As an employer in Alabama, I have recently had a mother of a minor employee that is over the age of consent in our state, contact me about a sexual harrassment situation with a shift supervisor. From my understanding of the sexual harrassment laws and my standing under them as an employer, I must have a statement specifically from my employee. It is also my understanding that according to the law, my hands as an employer are tied until the point where my employee has told the supervisor in no uncertain terms ''No. Stop. I am uncomfortable with that. Don't do it.'' Or anything along those lines. Until that point, to my understanding, I can't even broach the subject with my shift supervisor on any other level than reiterating what constitutes sexual harrassment because, I could be held accountable by the supervisor as invading their privacy. Is my understanding of this matter correct? Or should I be immediately investigating and terminating my employee as I also have the right in Alabama to terminate any employee for any reason?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search