Alabama  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
2/03/03, 1:12 am

Legal Question


Can Medicaid file claim on deceased mother's inheritance?

My mother died recently in a nursing home.( My father is still living.) Her medical bills were paid for by Medicaid, and she left no estate. After her death, the estate was settled for a deceased cousin of my mothers and we (my siblings and father) have received a check payable to the estate of my mother. An attorney we contacted thinks that my father is due a portion of this inheritance, and that the remainder will be owed to Medicaid as repayment for my mothers medical bills. Do you agree?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search