Arizona | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Joint ownership in a property. I cant find the other person. Can I have her removed?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Donald Scher |
You could only have her removed if you could prove that she is deceased because one of the characteristics of joint tenancy is that upon the death of one of the joint tenants, the survivor becomes the sole owner automatically. You need only record her death certificate. You can separate your interest in the property by conveying your interest to yourself in a proper manner, so that your half interest is protected and you will be tenants in common with her. That will not help you if you want to sell the property or want to refinance it. You should conduct a comprehensive search for her, then you can resolve any issues between you. |
Top Attorneys in AZ
Donald T. Scher & Associates, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 1357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Meyer Law Office
Chandler, AZ
Questions Answered: 141
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-23
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Law Office of Scott W. Hyder, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Weitz Law Firm, PLLC
Kirkland, WA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-31
Wolfe Law Group, LLC
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-15
The Law Office of Riley S. Snow PLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Search Questions and Answers


