Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Arkansas

Am I responsible for my dead parent's debts?

My parents died over a year ago; they left no estate. I am being dunned by a creditor. Am I legally responsible for their debts?

Asked on 1/21/02, 12:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Clark Evans Evans Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Am I responsible for my dead parent's debts?

Creditors would look to the estate or to estate assets for payment. If there were no estate assets, creditors are out of luck.

Read more
Answered on 1/21/02, 1:39 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Arkansas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now