California | Disability Law
Legal Question
ADA leave
How long can I stay home from work before my employer can insist I come back?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Arkady Itkin |
Re: ADA leave There is no universal answer to this question.
The California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) mandates on all employers with 5 or more employees to provide reasonable accommodations (with some limitations) to disabled workers. Reasonable accommodations may include changing schedule, working condition or providing leave of various durations. The length of such leave depends on the circumstance of a worker's disability, the size of the employer and its financial condition and a number of other factors.
Thanks, and feel free to follow up.
Arkady Itkin San Francisco / Sacramento Employment Laywer |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
Re: ADA leave If and when you are denied legally protected leave, or are illegally discriminated or retaliated against, then you can consider legal claims.
If your CA employer has at least 5 employees, they can not fire you because you are pregnant, must allow you to continue working as long as you are able, must 'reasonably' accommodate your disability, and must allow up to 4 months of unpaid pregnancy leave under FEHA.
If your CA employer has at least 50 employees, and you are employed for at least 12 months, have at least 1,250 hours worked in the 12 months prior to the leave, then you would be eligible for 12 weeks of unpaid FMLA/CFRA maternity/medical leave when the employee is unable to work, or must care for an immediate family member, because of a ‘serious health condition’, continuation of group health benefits, restoration to the same or an equivalent job upon return to work, with accrued benefits.
If you qualify for both, you get both. If you are out longer than those guarantees, they can fire you.
Upon termination from employment, you are entitled to COBRA conversion of your medical benefits [if any], allowing you to pay for and retain your insurance coverage.
Now, if they violate those rules, contact an attorney. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
The Law Office of Arkady Itkin
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Search Questions and Answers


