California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 4:39 am

Legal Question


I had been diagnosed with epilepsy in 2006 and haven't had that many seizures to date, however I had started a part time seasonal job recently and had actually had 2 seizures there thus far. Eventually the store manager called me and said that the HR wanted to ask me to voluntarily resign because of my epilepsy, and I have now found out that my hours are being cut and am being placed on mostly on call shifts. I am not a bad employee and work my hardest. My epilepsy doesn't really impare my ability to do tasks, I just need to be careful about the things that can cause my seizures. I of course said no to resigning. I'd just like to know if I can take any legal action against them because they asked me to resign and cut my hours due to my epilepsy.

Thanks,

Lindsay


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search