Legal Question in Bankruptcy in California

Cosigner declaring bankruptcy

14 months ago my dad cosigned a loan so I could get a car. I have been making the payments (all on time) and will continue to do so until it is paid off. He called me today and told me that in the next month or so that he is planning on declaring bankruptcy.

1. Since we are on the loan together and I am not declaring bankruptcy, won't that mean that the loan just becomes my responsibility alone?

2. I obviously still plan on making the payments on time; as long as they are being paid they can't repo the car, right?

Asked on 1/25/08, 9:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brian Whitaker Lifeline Legal, LLP
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Cosigner declaring bankruptcy

Right.

His BK could end up appearing on your credit report; but that would be improper and you will dispute it.

Read more
Answered on 1/26/08, 2:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now